Limen recommends: Tatiana Larionova plays Six moments musicaux Op. 16

Six moments musicaux Op. 16, proposed by Limenmusic and performed by Tatiana Larionova, is a set of solo piano pieces composed by Sergej Rachmaninoff between October and December 1896, and dedicated to Aleksandr Zatayevich, a Russian composer he had met before he had composed this work.
This six works have been described as “true concert works, being best served on a stage and with a concert grand”. Is a sophiscticated work that evidences his early virtuosity and sets an example for the quality of his future works.
The set’s name is inspired by Franz Schubert‘s piano cycle, also called Six moments musicaux (Op. 94, 1828), which of course are written on a much more intimate scale.
The Six moments musicaux are:

  1. Andantino, B-flat minor
  2. Allegretto, E-flat minor
  3. Andante cantabile, B minor
  4. Presto, E minor
  5. Adagio sostenuto, D-flat major
  6. Maestoso, C major

Born in 1979 in Primorskij Krai (URSS) Tatiana Larionova began studying the piano at the age of five. In 1991, she entered the Central Music School in Moscow, where she studied under Professor Yuri Slesarev. After graduating in 1997 with highest rating, Tatiana attended the Moscow State Conservatory where she studied until 2004 under Professor Victor Merzhanov, taking, again with best votes, her doctorate…
Read more


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply