Posts Tagged ‘Marco Stroppa’

Marco Stroppa’s Music, between commitment and technology…by Alfonso Alberti

Marco Stroppa (1959) is a composer with a multi-faceted training: for him the intersections between the different art and knowledge domains are customary frequentations.
After musical experiences in various Italian conservatories, he undertook scientific studies at MIT’s Media Lab in the U.S.: computer music, cognitive psychology and artificial intelligence. And then the electronic experiences: they aren’t a mandatory condition for his music writing, but a mindset that Stroppa takes on also when composing for acoustic-only ensembles.
Recently the audience in Milano had a chance to attend to the performance of a work of his, Nous sommes l’air, pas la terre (2003-2004) for accordion and viola, where a further intersection comes to the fore. It is the intersection between music and reality: music lives in the world and reads it, reads the evil, the violence, the unavoidable – and avoidable – tragedies.
The title of the work quotes a sentence, epigraph to a book by Svetlana Aleksievic, Byelorussian journalist and writer, well known for her inquiries into some dramatic events of the Twentieth Century. In that book (Voices from Chernobyl), the author lets the survivors of the Chernobyl tragedy talk, collecting their scathing testimony…

Read more

Italian Version


Rondò 2011 – Divertimento Ensemble: Concert n. 4

From today, March 30th, 2011 you can find on Limenmusic Web Tv, in the On Demand area, the fourth concert of the musical season of Divertimento Ensemble: Rondò 2011.

In this concert:

György Ligeti – Sonata for cello
Marco Stroppa – Ossia, seven strophes for literary drone
Rocco de Cia – Vuoti di oblio
Clara Iannotta – Il colore dell’ombra
Emanuele Palumbo – Faust und Margarete


Lorenzo Missaglia (flute)
Maurizio Longoni (clarinet)
Lorenzo Gorli (violin)
Relja Lunik (cello)
Maria Grazia Bellocchio (piano)
Sandro Gorli (conductor)

For more info about Divertimento Ensemble and the musical season Rondò 2011, please visite the web site:

For more info about the collaboration between Limenmusic and Divertimento Ensemble, please click here.

Don’t miss it!